Rover Coupé P5 3 litres de 1963

Rover Coupé P5 3 litres de 1963

Take Five

alut!, to my fellow Rover owners. My name is Patrick Thil. I have been contact with the Take Five magazine editor, mainly in relation to obtaining information on how to obtain spares for my 1963 P5 Coupé . As I have to buy parts from the UK communication can at times be difficult but I seem to get there eventually. I live in France, in the Oise area between CREIL and BEAUVAIS, a small village of about 300 inhabitants.

I bought my 1963 Rover P5 Coupé in August 2009. She had remained in storage for 25 years in Italy. She then returned to France after a mechanic purchased a batch of cars but the mechanic of course never got around to restoring her. The mechanic had her for about three years . He then decided to sell it in the state I received it in. The main problem has been the brakes as they had seized over the years. Some pieces were lacking (badges, body trim, horn centre etc ) The remainder of the car is in excellent condition though, and is without corrosion. The interior leather had dried out by the strength of the Italian sun. All the stitched joints had suffered too and were coming apart. I removed all the interior. The Interior is to be completely restored as well as the woodwork. The carpet has also been replaced and supplied by a company named, Lakewell,** who are located in Belgium. I must say I am very happy with them. I am also looking forward to having everything re-chromed. I need to overhaul the rear brakes and replace the brake servo unit.

I have placed an order with the ever helpful David Green. As soon as I receive these parts I will be back into the garage to finish her off. I hope to have the car back on road before March 2010. I will then look to get the paint finished as soon as possible. She will be White with red leather and red carpeting and maybe a blue roof! The colours of the French tri-colour and of course the British flag. We must not forget the “Entente-cordiale”, mes amis.

Why did a Frenchman buy this car? I might hear you ask. I bought this car because I am passionate about fine mechanical masterpieces. The Rover P5 has a well engineered engine. I also love the originality of this model. It is extremely rare to see this model in France, in fact all of Europe, especially the 3 litre coupé. “It has seduced me” (well, I am French) I have driven other British car’s but nothing quite compares to this. I will keep in touch with Glenn Reeve and hopefully update you as things progress.

 

Cordialement*

Patrick Thil

*Cordially



27/01/2013
2 Poster un commentaire

A découvrir aussi


Inscrivez-vous au blog

Soyez prévenu par email des prochaines mises à jour

Rejoignez les 18 autres membres